Change how referral credit is applied
Previously, users who referred a new user would immediately receive a $2.00 credit, even if that new account was immediately deleted and the new user never paid. We designed it this way intentionally, to provide immediate reward to people who take the time to refer friends, because we really appreciate when people make the effort to tell their friends about Exist.
But there’s always one person who has to wee in the pool and ruin it for everyone.
Because this design has recently been abused by a former user to extend credit indefinitely and avoid paying for Exist, we’ve unfortunately had to make the decision to change how we credit referrers. We now only credit referrers if the the new user who signed up via referral sticks around long enough to pay for their first month of Exist.